amazon app store

The Amazon Appstore has been stretching left and right and after reaching just under a quarter million apps mark some time back, it’s ready to spread its wings in 41 new countries.

The new countries that have been added are mostly from Asia, Africa and Oceania. These include Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, UAE (United Arab Emirates), Uzbekistan, and Yemen.

Of course the new countries will have regional restrictions and won’t have all the apps available to them. Although still miles behind the Play Store and Apple App Store, we see Amazon App Store competing with the Windows Phone Store, which has close to 270,000 apps.